Follow us: Facebook Twitter Instagram RSS

  1. Home
  2. World
  3. EU finance ministers set to vote on Europe’s IMF candidate


EU finance ministers set to vote on Europe’s IMF candidate


Kristalina Georgieva and Christine Lagarde

Kristalina Georgieva is one of the candidates.

EU finance ministers vote on a nominee to replace France's Christine Lagarde as the head of the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

The ministers agreed in a conference call Thursday that with no consensus as yet for any of the five identified candidates, it was time to hold one or more rounds of voting.

The vote is being delayed until Friday to give British Prime Minister Boris Johnson's new government a chance to nominate a sixth, British candidate if it so wishes.

The five candidates under discussion as of Thursday were the World Bank's chief executive officer Kristalina Georgieva; Spanish Economy Minister Nadia Calvino; Portuguese Finance Minister Mario Centeno; former Dutch finance minister Jeroen Dijsselbloem and former EU commissioner Olli Rehn from Finland.

Kristalina GeorgievaKristalina Georgieva

French Finance Minister Bruno Le Maire has been trying to find a European consensus on Lagarde's replacement after the IMF chief was tipped to head the European Central Bank.

The voting process will be held under the EU's weighted majority rule, which requires the approval of at least 16 of the 28 member states, representing at least 65 per cent of the total EU population.  

Comments (0)

No comments.

Add comment

Top news

view more


view more